Avril: Se libérer des addictions

Prions pour que toutes les personnes sous l’emprise d’addictions puissent être bien aidées et accompagnées.

Pape François – Avril 2020

Vous avez sans doute entendu parler du drame de l’addiction.
Et… avez-vous pensé aussi à l’addiction au jeu, à la pornographie, à internet…et aux risques de l’espace virtuel ?.
Fondés sur l’« Evangile de la Miséricorde », nous pouvons soulager, soigner et guérir les souffrances liées aux nouvelles addictions.
Prions pour que toutes les personnes sous l’emprise d’addictions puissent être bien aidées et accompagnées.

Credits

Campaign title:

The Pope Video – April 2020: Liberation from addictions

A project by Pope’s Worldwide Prayer Network

In collaboration with Vatican Media

Creativity and co-production by:

La Machi Communication for Good Causes

Music production and mix by:

Índigo Music Design

PRESS RELEASE

Le pape François met en garde contre les addictions et les dangers de l’espace virtuel

Dans La Vidéo du Pape d’avril, le Saint-Père attire l’attention sur les addictions qui touchent la société actuelle et demande que l’on prie pour que les personnes soient libérées des souffrances qu’elles entraînent.

(Cité du Vatican, le 2 avril 2020) – La Vidéo du Pape d’avril a fait connaître l’intention de prière du Saint-Père pour ce mois, confiée au Réseau Mondial de Prière du Pape : Pour la libération des diverses addictions qui touchent aujourd’hui des millions de personnes dans le monde. En ces temps de grande inquiétude face à la pandémie mondiale, le pape François n’oublie pas les problématiques d’autres personnes dans la souffrance et demande de prier pour elles.

Le « drame des addictions » n’inclut pas seulement la dépendance aux drogues, à l’alcool et au tabac, qui restent les causes les plus fréquentes de dépendance dans la société. Aujourd’hui, ce drame prend diverses formes nouvelles : selon l’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé, l’utilisation croissante d’internet, des ordinateurs, des smartphones et d’autres appareils électroniques au cours des dernières décennies amène des avantages évidents et considérables pour les utilisateurs et les sociétés, mais aussi à des cas documentés d’utilisation excessive pouvant aller jusqu’à diverses dépendances ayant des conséquences négatives sur la santé. Elles concernent les jeux et paris compulsifs, la pornographie, l’utilisation excessive des jeux vidéo et la présence quasi constante sur les plateformes numériques. L’utilisation excessive des plateformes affecte grandement la qualité des relations quotidiennes avec les proches.

Face à ces « dangers de l’espace virtuel », le Saint-Père explique que « grâce à l'”Évangile de la miséricorde’’ », nous pouvons « soulager, soigner et guérir les souffrances liées aux nouvelles addictions », par exemple par le biais de projets de prévention, de réhabilitation et de réinsertion.

Frédéric Fornos S.J., directeur international du Réseau Mondial de Prière du Pape (qui comprend le MEJ – Mouvement Eucharistique des Jeunes), a déclaré que « les communautés chrétiennes ne prétendent pas donner des réponses. Il existe des organisations et des associations compétentes pour aider les gens à sortir de leurs addictions, mais les communautés chrétiennes peuvent être un véritable soutien. Elles sont appelées, grâce à la fraternité et au pardon, à aider ceux qui sont esclaves de la drogue, ou d’autres formes de dépendance, à trouver Jésus-Christ, à faire l’expérience que Dieu sauve ». Il a également rappelé que la tradition spirituelle chrétienne bénéficie d’une longue expérience pour aider les personnes à ne pas se laisser entraîner sur des chemins mortifères, mais à choisir la vie. « Nous pouvons par exemple, rappeler les maladies de l’âme diagnostiquées par Évagre le Pontique, un père du désert du quatrième siècle, également appelé “le scrutateur de l’âme”. Évagre aide en invitant à se nourrir de la Parole de Dieu, à “ordonner sa vie”, à l’orienter vers le Seigneur seul, “le Chemin, la Vérité et la Vie” (Jean 14)”.

Toujours proche des personnes qui souffrent, La Vidéo du Pape demande « que toutes les personnes sous l’emprise d’addictions puissent être bien aidées et accompagnées ».

adminAvril: Se libérer des addictions

April: Liberation from addictions

We pray that those suffering from addiction may be properly helped and accompanied

Pope Francis – April 2020

Surely, you’ve heard about the drama of addiction.
And… have you also thought about the addiction to gambling, to pornography, to the internet… and the dangers of virtual space?.
Supported by the “Gospel of Mercy” we can alleviate, care for and heal the suffering associated with new kinds of addiction.
We pray that those suffering from addiction may be properly helped and accompanied.

Credits

Campaign title:

The Pope Video – April 2020: Liberation from addictions

A project by Pope’s Worldwide Prayer Network

In collaboration with Vatican Media

Creativity and co-production by:

La Machi Communication for Good Causes

Music production and mix by:

Índigo Music Design

Benefactors

PRESS RELEASE

Pope Francis warns about addictions and the dangers of virtual space

In The Pope Video for April, the Holy Father calls our attention to the addictions that affect society today, and asks us to pray that people be freed from their addictions and the sufferings that go with them.

 (Vatican City, April 2, 2020) – The Pope Video for April made known the Holy Father’s prayer intention for this month, entrusted to the Pope’s Worldwide Prayer Network: for liberation from the various addictions that today affect millions of people around the world. During times of great concern due to the worldwide pandemic, Francis doesn’t forget the problems of other people who are suffering, and asks us to pray for them.

The “drama of addiction” not only refers to drug, alcohol, and tobacco addictions, which continue to be the most prevalent causes of addiction in society. Today, this drama takes on various new forms: according to the World Health Organization, the growing use of the Internet, computers, smartphones, and other electronic devices that have appeared in recent decades is associated not only with clear and enormous benefits for their users and for society, but also with documented cases of excessive use, which often leads to various addictions with negative health consequences. They have to do with compulsive gambling, with pornography, with the excessive use of videogames, and with the almost constant presence of users in platforms of the digital world. The excessive use of these platforms has a significant impact on the quality of our daily relationships, including the closest ones.

In the face of these “dangers of virtual space,” the Holy Father explains that “supported by the ‘Gospel of Mercy’ we can alleviate, care for and heal the suffering associated with new kinds of addiction,” through prevention, for example, rehabilitation and reintegration projects.

Fr. Frédéric Fornos SJ, International Director of the Pope’s Worldwide Prayer Network (which includes the Eucharistic Youth Movement, EYM), said that “Christian communities don’t pretend to give answers. There are competent organizations and associations that help people liberate themselves from their addictions. However, Christian communities can truly provide support. They are called, through fraternity and forgiveness, to help all those who are slaves to drugs or other forms of addiction to have an encounter with Jesus Christ; to experience that God saves.” He also explained how Christian spiritual tradition has great experience in helping people not to let themselves be dragged along paths that lead to death, but rather to choose life. “For example, we can call to mind the diseases of the soul diagnosed by Evagrius Ponticus, one of the desert fathers of the 4th century, also known as the ‘scrutinizer of the soul.’ Evagrius, inviting us to nourish ourselves with the Word of God, helps us to ‘order our life,’ to orient it only towards the Lord, ‘the Way, the Truth and the Life’ (John 14).”

Always close to those who suffer, Francis in The Pope Video prays that “those suffering from addiction may be properly helped and accompanied.”

Addictions, Addiction, Compulsive Gambling, Pornography, Wagering, Virtual World, Internet, Social Networks, Isolation, Confinement, Danger, Accompaniment, Help, Friendship, Relations, Family, Drugs, Alcoholism, Substances

adminApril: Liberation from addictions