Le Pape François invite à adopter un style de vie sobre et écologiquement durable

Dans La Vidéo du Pape de septembre, François nous invite fortement à remettre en cause nos styles de vie et notre manière d’utiliser les biens de la planète pour envisager un changement basé sur la prise en charge responsable, le respect, la simplicité et la sobriété.

(Cité du Vatican, 2 septembre 2021) – La Vidéo du Pape, qui diffuse l’intention de prière que François confie à toute l’Église catholique à travers le Réseau Mondial de Prière du Pape vient de paraître pour le mois de septembre. En ce mois consacré au  Temps pour la Création, le Saint Père aborde une fois de plus la crise environnementale que traverse l’humanité. En soulignant que « les jeunes ont le courage d’entreprendre des projets de transformation environnementale et sociale », il nous appelle à remettre en question notre style de vie et l’usage que nous faisons des biens matériels de la planète, « souvent au préjudice de la Terre », et il nous demande de changer pour aller « vers des styles de vie plus simples et plus respectueux de l’environnement ». Cette édition de La Vidéo du Pape a été soutenue par BIP, l’une des principales sociétés de conseil en Europe, qui compte plus de 3 500 professionnels dans le monde.

Les racines humaines de la crise écologique

La nécessité d’une action urgente pour combattre la crise environnementale et sociale n’est pas nouvelle ; il y a de plus en plus d’alertes mondiales pour essayer de faire prendre conscience à l’humanité que quelque chose doit changer. En juin dernier, l’ONU a prévenu que « la planète était en train d’atteindre rapidement un « point de non-retour affectée par la triple menace du changement climatique, de la pollution et de la perte de biodiversité. » Avec un impact sur nos vies à tous : « Notre dégradation du monde naturel compromet déjà le bien-être de 3,2 milliards de personnes, soit 40% de l’humanité ». António Guterres, Secrétaire général de l’ONU, a ajouté que « l’humanité depuis trop longtemps a abattu les forêts de la planète, pollué ses rivières et ses océans et labouré ses prairies jusqu’à ce qu’il n’en reste rien. Nous sommes en train de dévaster les écosystèmes qui soutiennent nos sociétés. »

Mais comme l’avait anticipé François dans Laudato si’ : « Il ne sert à rien de décrire les symptômes de la crise écologique, si nous n’en reconnaissons pas la racine humaine. » Il est donc impératif de réfléchir en premier lieu sur notre style de vie pour voir dans quelle mesure nos actions sont préjudiciables à la planète : « Réfléchissons, surtout en ces temps de crise (crise sanitaire, sociale, environnementale) — dit François dans La Vidéo du Pape — pensons à notre style de vie. Réfléchissons à la façon dont nos choix quotidiens en matière d’alimentation, de consommation, de déplacements, d’utilisation de l’eau, de l’énergie, du plastique et de nombreux biens matériels sont souvent préjudiciables à la Terre ».

Changer le monde grâce au courage des jeunes

« Choisissons de changer », voilà l’appel du Pape François. Il regarde vers les jeunes lorsqu’il réfléchit à ce changement, car ils sont à l’avant-garde des questions écologiques et ce sont eux qui « ont le courage d’entreprendre des projets de transformation environnementale et sociale ».

Le message du pape est également partagé par BIP, l’entreprise qui a soutenu la vidéo de ce mois-ci. Son président, Nino Lo Bianco, a expliqué pourquoi : « Notre mission en tant qu’entreprise est d’œuvrer pour une croissance économique durable et inclusive qui valorise et protège notre planète. Nous avons choisi de soutenir le message du Pape François à toute l’humanité car nous sommes fermement engagés à participer activement au développement de solutions et d’activités visant à améliorer et à gérer un impact positif sur les communautés et l’environnement grâce à notre travail. »

Le Père Frédéric Fornos S.J., Directeur International du Réseau Mondial de Prière du Pape, a commenté : « Une fois de plus, les paroles du pape François ne peuvent pas nous laisser indifférents. Face à la crise écologique, il est urgent de changer notre style de vie pour qu’il soit sobre et solidaire. Sommes-nous conscients de cette urgence ? Lorsque le pape parle d’écologie intégrale, il indique que tout est interconnecté dans nos vies. Les mots ne suffisent plus pour protéger notre maison commune. Prions pour agir avec le courage des jeunes, pour mener une vie plus sobre et écologiquement durable qui assure notre avenir. Dans Laudato Si’, François propose une voie à suivre, un retour à la simplicité, à la fraternité avec la Création et les plus démunis ». 

Comme les années précédentes, lorsque les intentions de François portaient sur les océans (2019) et les ressources de la Terre (2020), l’édition de septembre de La Vidéo du Pape fait partie de la célébration annuelle mondiale et œcuménique du Temps pour la Création. En 2021, elle se déroulera du 1er septembre – Journée mondiale de prière pour la Sauvegarde de la création – au 4 octobre, fête de saint François d’Assise, saint patron de l’écologie. En plus du soutien du BIP, cette vidéo est soutenue par le Dicastère pour le Service du Développement Humain Intégral et le Mouvement Laudato Si’ (ex Mouvement catholique mondial pour le Climat). La vidéo a été réalisée par Nicolas Brown (trois fois lauréat d’un Emmy Award) et coproduite pour le Réseau Mondial de Prière du Pape par Vatican Media, Off the Fence Productions et La Machi Communication for Good Causes.

La Vidéo du Pape est possible grâce à la contribution désintéressée de nombreuses personnes. Cliquez sur ce lien pour faire un don.

Où regarder la Vidéo ?

A propos de La Vidéo du Pape

La Vidéo du Pape est une initiative officielle de portée mondiale qui relaie les intentions mensuelles du Saint-Père. Elle est réalisée par le Réseau Mondial de Prière du Pape (Apostolat de la Prière). Depuis 2016, La Vidéo du Pape a enregistré plus de 161 millions de vues sur l’ensemble des réseaux sociaux. Elle est traduite dans plus de 23 langues et a une couverture de presse dans 114 pays. Les vidéos sont produites et réalisées par l’équipe de La Vidéo du Pape du Réseau de Prière, coordonnée par Andrea Sarubbi, avec le soutien de l’agence La Machi Communication for Good Causes. Le projet est soutenu par Vatican Media. Pour plus d’information : La Vidéo du Pape

A propos du Réseau Mondial de Prière du Pape

Le Réseau Mondial de Prière du Pape est une œuvre pontificale dont la mission est de mobiliser les catholiques par la prière et l’action face aux défis de l’humanité et de la mission de l’Église. Ces défis se présentent sous la forme d’intentions de prière confiées par le Pape à toute l’Église. Sa mission s’inscrit dans la spiritualité du Cœur de Jésus, c’est une mission de compassion pour le monde. Ce réseau a été fondé en 1844 en tant qu’Apostolat de la Prière. Il est aujourd’hui présent dans 89 pays et compte plus de 22 millions de catholiques. Il comprend une branche jeunes, le MEJ – Mouvement Eucharistique des Jeunes. En décembre 2020, le Pape a constitué cette Œuvre Pontificale en tant que fondation vaticane et a approuvé ses nouveaux statuts. Son directeur international est le P. Frédéric Fornos, SJ. Pour plus d’informations : www.prieredupape.va

CONTACT PRESSE

press@thepopevideo.org

BIP

Camilla Castaldo

Camilla.Castaldo@mail-bip.com

adminLe Pape François invite à adopter un style de vie sobre et écologiquement durable

Pope Francis asks that we lead a simple and ecologically sustainable lifestyle

In the new Pope Video for September, Francis issues an urgent exhortation for us to question our lifestyles and the way we use the planet’s resources, in order to propose a change based on responsible care, respect, simplicity, and austerity.

(Vatican City, September 2, 2021) –  The Pope Video has just been published with the prayer intention that Francis is entrusting to the entire Catholic Church through the Pope’s Worldwide Prayer Network. In this month of September, the month of the Season of Creation, the Holy Father addresses once again the environmental crisis humanity is traversing. Emphasizing how “young people have the courage to undertake projects for environmental and social improvement,” he calls us to question the way we live and how we use the material goods of the planet—“often harmful to the Earth”—and he asks us to change, advancing “towards lifestyles that are simpler and more respectful of the environment.” This edition of The Pope Video has the support of BIP, one of the principal consultancies in Europe with more than 3,500 employees throughout the entire world.

The human root of the ecological crisis

The need for urgent action to combat the social and environmental crisis isn’t anything new; there are more and more global alerts to try to raise the awareness of humanity that something must change. Last June, the UN warned that the planet is “rapidly reaching a ‘point of no return’” and that we’re facing “the triple environmental threat of biodiversity loss, climate disruption and escalating pollution.” This impacts the lives of all: “Our degradation of the natural world is (…) already undermining the well-being of 3.2 billion people – or 40 per cent of humanity.” António Guterres, Secretary-General of the UN, added that “for too long, humanity has cut down the Earth’s forests, polluted its rivers and oceans, and ploughed its grasslands into oblivion. We are ravaging the very ecosystems that underpin our societies.”

But as Francis already had written in Laudato si’, “It would hardly be helpful to describe symptoms without acknowledging the human origins of the ecological crisis.” This is why it is imperative, first of all, that we reflect on the lifestyle we lead, to see to what extent our actions harm the planet: “Especially during these moments of health, social and environmental crisis,” Francis says in The Pope Video, let us “reflect on our lifestyle. Let us reflect on how the way we eat, consume, travel, or the way we use water, energy, plastics, and many other material goods, is often harmful to the Earth.”

Change the world with the courage of the young

“Let us choose change,” is the Holy Father’s petition. He centers his gaze on young people when he thinks of this change, since he considers them to be on the forefront of ecological issues, and says they are the ones who “have the courage to undertake projects for environmental and social improvement.”

The Pope’s message is also shared by BIP, the company that is supporting this month’s video. Its chairman, Nino Lo Bianco, explains why: “Our mission as a company is to aspire to sustainable and integrating economic growth that values and protects our planet. We’ve decided to support Pope Francis’ message to all of humanity because we’re firmly committed to participating actively in the development of solutions and activities oriented towards improving and administrating a positive impact on communities and the environment through our work.”

On his part, Fr. Fréderic Fornos, S.J., International Director of the Pope’s Worldwide Prayer Network, commented: “Once again, Francis’ words cannot leave us indifferent. In the face of the ecological crisis, it is urgent that we change our lifestyle to make it reflect simplicity and solidarity. Are we aware of this urgency? When the Pope speaks to us of integral ecology, he’s telling us that everything is interconnected in our lives. Words are no longer enough to protect our common home. Let us pray that we will act with the courage of the young, to live a more austere and ecologically sustainable life that will ensure our future. In Laudato Si’, Francis proposes to us a path, a return to simplicity, to fraternity with Creation and those most in need.”

As in past years when Francis’ intentions were about the oceans (2019) and the Earth’s resources (2020), the September edition of The Pope Video is part of the global and ecumenical celebration of the Season of Creation. In 2021, it takes place from September 1, the World Day of Prayer for the Care of Creation, until October 4, the feast of St. Francis of Assisi, the patron saint of the environment. In addition to the support of BIP, this video has the collaboration of the Dicastery for Promoting Integral Human Development and of the Laudato Si’ Movement (formerly the Global Catholic Climate Movement). The video was directed by Nicolas Brown (three-time Emmy winner) and co-produced for the Pope’s Worldwide Prayer Network by Vatican Media, Off the Fence Productions, and La Machi Communication for Good Causes.

The Pope Video is possible thanks to the generous contributions of many people. You can donate by following this link.

Where can you watch the video?

About The Pope Video

The Pope Video is an official global initiative with the purpose of disseminating the Holy Father’s monthly prayer intentions. It is carried out by the Pope’s Worldwide Prayer Network (Apostleship of Prayer). Since the year 2016, The Pope Video has had more than 161 million views across all its social networks, and is translated into more than 23 languages, receiving press coverage in 114 countries. The videos are produced and created by the team of The Pope Video of the Prayer Network, coordinated by Andrea Sarubbi, with the support of La Machi Communication for Good Causes agency. The project is supported by Vatican Media. More information at: The Pope Video

About the Pope’s Worldwide Prayer Network

The Pope’s Worldwide Prayer Network is a Vatican foundation, with the mission of mobilizing Catholics through prayer and action in response to the challenges facing humanity and the mission of the Church. These challenges are presented in the form of prayer intentions entrusted by the Pope to the entire Church. The foundation’s mission is inscribed in the dynamic of the Heart of Jesus, a mission of compassion for the world. It was founded in 1844 as the Apostleship of Prayer. It is present in 89 countries and is made up of more than 22 million Catholics. It includes a youth branch, the EYM: Eucharistic Youth Movement. In December 2020, the Pope constituted this pontifical work as a Vatican foundation and approved its new statutes. Its international director is Fr. Frédéric Fornos, SJ. For more information, visit: https://www.popesprayer.va

PRESS CONTACT

info@thepopevideo.org 

BIP

Camilla Castaldo

Camilla.Castaldo@mail-bip.com 

adminPope Francis asks that we lead a simple and ecologically sustainable lifestyle